need info on Lake City Ball M80 .308

This is a discussion on need info on Lake City Ball M80 .308 within the Cartridges & Calibers forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Does anyone know any specifics about Lake City M80 Ball .308, like the weight of the bullet, ballistic coefficient, general ballistics, etc? A whole ballistics ...

need info on Lake City Ball M80 .308

Does anyone know any specifics about Lake City M80 Ball .308, like the weight of the bullet, ballistic coefficient, general ballistics, etc?

A whole ballistics chart or some way to figure out the ballistics of this round would be much appreciated. The box this ammo comes in doesn't have any of this information...

p.s. I know military surplus isn't exactly raved about on this website (unless it's m118), but this stuff will shoot less than 2MOA out of my Savage 11, which is fine with me (I'm a long range newbie)
    It seems our problems solve themselves, when we look beyond us to those truly in hell.

M-80 ball:
    147 Gr. FMJBT Bullet
    2750 F.P.S
    B.C. .420
    NRA Lifer/ 2nd bn. 23 rd Marines (res). 0351 AT/ Assault. "An appeaser is one who feeds a crocodile,hoping it will eat him last ". Winston Churchill

Re: need info on Lake City Ball M80 .308

Quote Originally Posted by Buzzard09
    A whole ballistics chart or some way to figure out the ballistics of this round would be much appreciated. The box this ammo comes in doesn't have any of this information..

That's why you keep a range book. No two guns perform the same. Changes in daily weather as well as seasonal will also change your own performance.

Learn to use a ballistics program. There's one here that I use and it will give you a basic starting point as to trajectory and come ups. As farmerj stated, every rifle is different. When using the program, be sure to input the proper sight(scope) offset height.

http://www.jbmballistics.com/cgi-bin/jbmtraj-5.0.cgi