Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

Temperature and Humidity

4K views 13 replies 4 participants last post by  docv_73 
#1 ·
How much does temperature and humidity effect trajectory?

The reason I ask is yesterday I shot a 3 shot group at 300 yds all within about an inch and a half. I then dialed in the dope for a 600 yard 24"x36" steel target and shot 3 more. They didn't group great but I could consider that shooter error as I am fairly new at shooting distances over 200 yards. They were all within about 8 inches of each other and roughly the center of the target. I went back out today and shot with the same dope and was shooting about 2.5 MOA high on my first 3 shot group. The temperature I would say was about 10-15 degrees warmer the second day. I'm not sure about humidity but it didn't feel that much different. I guess I'm looking for an explanation for the variation between the two days. Could it have been the atmospheric differences or could have been the ammo was from two different boxes?

#2 ·
Temperature and Humidity will not make that much difference at that range. From range to range, all through the year, and all over the midwest, I do not see that much variance in my zeroes.

Odd. The change was strictly elevation, correct?

-Nate

#3 ·
Yes. Strictly Elevation. At first I thought maybe when I dialed back to zero I went the wrong way but I set up a 100 Yard target and shot and hit dead on. I am shooting Federal American Eagle 150 Gr. FMJ Boat Tail and the last shot on the first day finished off one box. So on the second day I opened a brand new box. I bought both boxes at the same time but am not entirely certain if they were the same lot. Regardless if it was the same lot or not, I don't think the ammo would shoot THAT different....just throwing out some more info.

#4 ·
Was there anything different between day 1 and day 2--such as:
a)how the gun was held to the shooter,
b) how the gun was positioned on a bag/bipod/other,