Rifles in Cold Weather

This is a discussion on Rifles in Cold Weather within the Misc. forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hello. I've never posted here before, but this seems the place to get an answer to a question I haven't found much about online. I'm ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Rifles in Cold Weather

Hello. I've never posted here before, but this seems the place to get an answer to a question I haven't found much about online.

I'm an author, and the end of a story I am writing has a man heading into the extreme north where he intends to operate as a sniper. I am wondering if there are any concerns with rifles having operational problems in extreme cold. Specifically, where he's headed is expected to have a temperature of -30 F (or C, they cross around there), which seems a good deal colder than most military equipment is intended for.

I haven't been able to find anything online about rifle operation in extreme cold aside from concerns about cold-weather clothing interfering with using a gun and a need to use less lubricant or a dry lubricant.

Do most sniper rifles fire normally regardless of temperature, and are there any specific rifles that are designed for cold-weather use?

Thanks for your help.

I know the Accuracy International Arctic Warfare rifle family has a few unique features that help it perform better in arctic conditions. for instance the bolt has tiny grooves etched in it to help with cycling the bolt (problems arose when to bolt would freeze shut in extreme cold weather) it is also fitted with larger than normal hardware.

From Wikipedia: The rifle now featured special de-icing features allowing it to be used effectively at temperatures as low as −40 °C (−40.0 °F). The stockhole, bolt, magazine release and trigger guard on the AW are large enough to facilitate use with heavy Arctic mittens.