Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

Simple Bi-Pod Question

5K views 34 replies 14 participants last post by  DenverDave 
#1 ·
Hey guys! I'm a newbie here, and very new to the LRR shooting world.
Well my question is I am putting together a build for my R700 SPS Tactical .308 I am using the Hogue stock that it came with (I know I should upgrade my stock but $$ issues means I will have to hold off). I'll include a picture of it.
However it only comes with one stud for a sling/bi-pod. I was wondering if any of you could suggest any decently priced bi-pods that also have a sling stud built into them. Or is that even remotely something I should try to do is find a bi-pod with a sling stud on it? Like I said I'm new to building a long range shooter and I've only hunted a handful of times.

tl;dr
Is it advisable to find a bi-pod w/ sling stud, or is that dumb/stupid and could cause accuracy issues/damage the stock.

Thanks!
Max Gun Rifle Firearm Shotgun Trigger
Gun Rifle Firearm Shotgun Trigger

See less See more
#2 ·
A bipod with a built in swivel poses no issue. Caldwell, Harris, etc will all accept a sling. However, the hogue stocks on those rifles tend to flex to the point of possibly (or more accurately - probably) touching the barrel.

MY recommendation would be to find a good HS Precision take off stock from a 700P, 5R Milspec or similar rifle to replace the stock. It's a lot better built, has two studs, and (big plus) has an aluminum bedding block with built in pillars which will help you out as far as accuracy goes. Guys buy milspecs and police rifles all the time and drop them into aftermarket stocks, so you could find one of these takeoffs pretty easily and pretty cheap.

#3 ·
Hell even a $100 Boyd's stock is an improvement over those Houges.

Caldwell would be the cheapest I'd go on a bi-pod. But even then, considering a Harris is only another $30 it's not worth buying anything but a Harris.

#6 ·