Scope setup on Rem. 700 .308

This is a discussion on Scope setup on Rem. 700 .308 within the Optics forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hey everyone, I'm new to the long range shooting world and have several questions regarding my scope setup on a new Remington 700 sps varmint ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Scope setup on Rem. 700 .308

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the long range shooting world and have several questions regarding my scope setup on a new Remington 700 sps varmint .308. I have been hunting and shooting my whole life but have never gotten into long range shooting. I have other rifles for hunting so this one will be used for some long distance hunting, but primarily for fun shooting and learning how to accurately shoot at the longest distances possible.

My rifle is on order and I am now trying to decide which bases, mounts, and scope to start with. I am the DIY kind of guy so I plan on building this rifle on my own and would rather learn the hard way than pay someone else to do it for me and not know anything about my own setup. I'm thinking Burris Xtreme mounts and a SWFA SS 10X42mm. Is this a good choice in scopes or should I look into getting a variable power scope for shooting out past 5 or 6 hundred yards? Any info or comments regarding these items will be greatly appreciated.

I have no clue as to what base I should get but from my research I think a 1 piece picatinny rail seems to be pretty much standard. If anyone wants to shed some light on a good base I would appreciate that as well.

I'm trying to stay on as tight of a budget as I can but I don't want crappy equipment so if I need to save up for things I'm in no rush. Also I plan to put a Bell & Carlson Tactical adjustable stock and detachable Mag on her but I think the scope should come first so I can get out and send some lead down range.
    :lol:

I need all the info I can get so if anyone has any suggestions or comments let them roll.

Many Thanks.