Mounting scope to sig 556

This is a discussion on Mounting scope to sig 556 within the Optics forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I am looking for advice on mounting an 'extra' scope that is currently unused. It is a Bushnell 3-9 x 40. What I would like ...

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member jasonR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    409

    Mounting scope to sig 556

    I am looking for advice on mounting an 'extra' scope that is currently unused. It is a Bushnell 3-9 x 40. What I would like to do is to set things up so that I can easily swap the red dot that is normally on the rifle with Bushnell scope and back again. The sig comes with a long picatinny rail for mounting above the action. I really don't know much about the quick release options out there, so suggestions/advice is much welcome.

    Thanks.

    Edit: The Red Dot is the STS-081 from Sig Sauer that came with the rifle. It easily mounts to the rail and is secured with a hex-head set screw. I assume that if I removed the sight and put it right back on, in the same position, it would not necessarily return to zero. (just a guess)
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Warning: This post is being monitored by our Surveillance State.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    289

    Re: Mounting scope to sig 556

    You have a number of options. Take a look at the Burris PEPR mount:
    http://www.opticsplanet.net/burris-a...al-mounts.html
    The PEPR mount is a great system. It now comes with the picatinny ring tops as well as the standard ring tops.

    Chase B.

  3. #3
    Senior Member jasonR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    409

    Re: Mounting scope to sig 556

    Thanks Adam and Chase,

    I can see that for the scope will be a matter of choosing one of the several out there.

    I have updated my original post to indicate that the Red Dot is the STS-081 that came with the rifle. It mounts onto the rail and is held in place with a set screw. I assume this can't removed and put back on without re-sighting? Any suggestions here?
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Warning: This post is being monitored by our Surveillance State.

  4. #4
    Senior Member jasonR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Central Virginia
    Posts
    409

    Re: Mounting scope to sig 556

    Great - Thanks for the help, I'm good to go.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Warning: This post is being monitored by our Surveillance State.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    56

    Re: Mounting scope to sig 556

    If you want to be able to remove and reinstall the scope without loss of zero you could go with a LaRue or ADM mount. I have an ADM Recon on my AR build. It works perfectly and has been on and off several times with no loss of zero. It will cost about twice what the Burris PEPR costs, though. SWFA makes their own version of the PEPR called the SSALT. It's about $10 cheaper.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need Help Mounting Scope
    By paulsnapp in forum Optics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 02:54 PM
  2. Scope Mounting Kit
    By oubeta in forum Optics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-22-2008, 03:37 PM
  3. Scope mounting?
    By Vertigo in forum Optics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2006, 04:08 PM
  4. Mounting a scope
    By TONKA TOY in forum Optics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2006, 08:47 AM
  5. mounting a scope
    By gimpmsu in forum Optics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-11-2005, 07:45 AM

Search tags for this page

best optic for sig 556r
,

best scope for sig 556

,

best scope for sig 556r

,
how to install a scope.on a sig 556 ar
,

scope mount for sig 556

,
scope rings for sig 556
,

sig 556 scope mount

,

sig 556r scope

Click on a term to search for related topics.