DPMS Panther Arms LR-243

This is a discussion on DPMS Panther Arms LR-243 within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Has anyone tried the DPMS Panther Arms LR-243 :?: , or seen one in action? I'm in the process of getting a light recoil rifle ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

DPMS Panther Arms LR-243

Has anyone tried the DPMS Panther Arms LR-243 :?: , or seen one in action? I'm in the process of getting a light recoil rifle for 300 yards bench rest, and bean field deer hunting. I simply can't tolerate the 308, and my shoulder is as good as it's going to get. The reason I choose the 243 over the 6.8mm is I'm set up to reload the 243.

I have no practical experience in the 6.8mm, and I assume that it shoots basically the same bullet & speed as the 243?

I would really like to work up a load that wont eat my barrel for lunch. From what I have heard, just under 3000 fps should give me good barrel wear.

If nothing else it would be some kind of fun setting an AR on the shooting bench

Great choice, just make sure you get enough twist rate to shoot the cool bullets. :wink:

The 6.8 or the 243?

I haven't loaded any 243 since my dad died. He had a Browning ABolt Stalker, and I don't remember the twist. After I found the load it liked, it would shoot MOA to 300 yards using 95grain Nosler Ballistic Tips. Totally decimates the vitals of a whitetail, and he shot a HUGE old doe that dressed 135lbs, with a double shoulder shot.

The 243 is way better than the 6.8, you need at least a 1 in 9 twist.

Re: DPMS Panther Arms LR-243

Quote Originally Posted by geneinnc
    I have no practical experience in the 6.8mm, and I assume that it shoots basically the same bullet & speed as the 243?
    Gene,
    The 6.8 is a .277 diameter bullet. Same diameter as the 270 Win. Just shoots light weight bullets at relativly low velocity. The 243 Win is a much better cartridge for hunting.