Remington 760 GameMaster

This is a discussion on Remington 760 GameMaster within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hey guys whats going on. I'm just getting into serious shooting and I don't really have alot of money to build a brand new custom ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Remington 760 GameMaster

Hey guys whats going on. I'm just getting into serious shooting and I don't really have alot of money to build a brand new custom rifle. But I do have an old Remington 760 .30-06 slide action that my gramps gave to me when I was born. It's been well taken care of (my dads a gunsmith and my family has always taken their firearms very seriously). I guess i'm just wondering if anyone has any experience with these rifles or slide actions in general for sniping/distance/accurate shooting. Thanks I hope to learn alot from you guys.

They shoot good enough to hit deer out to a couple hundred yards, but I would not attempt to make it something that it is not. That rifle is something that you should keep and cherish for sentimental value, because it was obviously something special for your grandfather to give to you. I would recommend saving some money here and there until you have enough money for a Ruger 10/22 with iron sights. When you get that, spend as much time as possible shooting it in all kinds of conditions, and be sure to practice this: http://www.snipercentral.com/forums/...pic.php?t=7654

While you're shooting your .22, continue saving money until you have about $1000 saved up, and buy one of Mel's starter packages. By that time you will be an EXCELLENT shot, and ready to start shooting at real extended ranges with the .308.

This may not be what you wanted to hear, but it's the advice I'll give you

-matt
    http://www.ordnancesystem.com/
    Ordnance System Designs, Inc.
    Stay tuned for details.

Be worthy of your freedom and of the sacrifice of those who protect it.