Howa 1500

This is a discussion on Howa 1500 within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I was at Turners the other day and saw the Howa 1500 combo (with scope) for $633 with a 24" free floated heavy barrel in ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Howa 1500

Howa 1500

I was at Turners the other day and saw the Howa 1500 combo (with scope) for $633 with a 24" free floated heavy barrel in 308. I am pretty new to rifles and am looking to get my first bolt action, is this a good rifle. Can work be done to it to make it better as I progress down the road?

I am used to the saying, get what you pay for and I am just floored by that price. It had a Hogue stock with aluminum bedding (not as good as glass bedding if I am right) but a start.

Input would be great about this rifle. Will I be wasting my money or is it a good stepping stone with lots of room to have the rifle grow with me as well.

Thanks,
    Brett
    BJ
    ...Dolce Bellum Inexpertis

The Howa 1500 are very capable rifles; the barreled actions are used in Meles entry level package, and many members here have had great success with them. However, you will need to elaborate on what scope comes with the deal. If it is a Nikko Sterling (as I seem to remember that most are) then they are not very good and well worth replacing as soon as possible. If you are on a budget, look at the Falcon Menace, Super Sniper and Bushnell 3200 range of scopes.

As for work down the line, whilst not as popular as the Remington M700, many gunsmiths with be able to work on the Howa, not least because it is a copy of the 700 action.

Cheers

Matthais_31

Thanks for this response, exactly what I wanted to hear. Hmm maybe the Howa 1500 without the packaged scope and buy the scope I want would be better way to go.

Short action or long action? What is the difference? Is one better than the other? Etc...
    BJ