Help for a new guy

This is a discussion on Help for a new guy within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; To begin, yes I have read most of the posts regarding the content of my question and yes that was way too much information for ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Help for a new guy

To begin, yes I have read most of the posts regarding the content of my question and yes that was way too much information for me to process that quick. I am ready to purchase a bigger gun than the .22 I have used to date. I realize there is no true one rifle for all purposes but being a poor college student I am relegated to trying to get as close as I can. So far I have decided on a Remington 700 with a leupold mark 4 scope (8.5-25x50 mil/mil). I could really use some help with choosing a chambering for it. My purpose for the rifle is dual -- long range hunting (at some point sooner than later I hope for North American big game i.e. elk or moose) as well as long range paper punching. I would like to reach out to ~1500 yards for the paper. I do realize that the cartridge will probably not have the energy to be effective for a clean kill at that range. I was originally looking at the .338WM but have gotten somewhat discouraged at that choice after seeing some of the ballistic tables for it. I would like to keep the factory ammo costs lower for now but I do plan on reloading in the future. I have tried to post with as much information as I could but I have also been up for a while so please feel free to ask. I thank those that read it for their time, those that help for their advice, and those that flame for their roasted wieners.

Re: Help for a new guy