.308 VEPR as a DMR

This is a discussion on .308 VEPR as a DMR within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hey guys, new member here. My brother is wondering how the RPK-based VEPR in .308 performs as a DMR. I have no experience with this ...

.308 VEPR as a DMR

Hey guys, new member here.
    My brother is wondering how the RPK-based VEPR in .308 performs as a DMR. I have no experience with this rifle, and was hoping someone out there might be able to share their experiences with it.

Re: .308 VEPR as a DMR

He already has an Arsenal AK-47 in 7.62x39, and really likes the feel and operation of the AK style platform, so there would be less of a learning curve. I have reloading equipment for .308, and would be able to work up loads to fine tune the accuracy. Basically, he wants the power and range of a .308 without the cost of an AR-10 or M1A. Accuracy gained from handloads should roughly make up for lesser inherent accuracy in the rifle. Personally, I agree with you that and M1A or and AR would be better, but he's also on a pretty tight budget. We figured a VEPR might be a low cost solution to the problem, but wanted some insight from some more informed people than random google searches would yield.

As for a PSL, surplus ammo is cheap and plentiful, match grade, not so much. I also dont' have dies for 7.62x54R, so I couldn't make him any match grade ammo if he went that route.

As for intended use, he wants to be able to reach beyond the roughly 300 yard effective range of his current AK, out to maybe 500-600, pretty much what a DMR is meant for. In theory, the VEPR should do this fine, but we all know how much falls by the wayside when theory tries to become practice.