Which one should I go with?

This is a discussion on Which one should I go with? within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I am new to long range rifle shooting. I want to build up my skills and shoot for fun. I may do some less formal ...

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Which one should I go with?

I am new to long range rifle shooting. I want to build up my skills and shoot for fun. I may do some less formal competition shooting someday, but maybe not. My main question at the moment is, of course, which rifle should I use. I have a Savage 116 7mm RUM, a Winchester model 70 270 WSM, and a Winchester model 70 243 WSSM. I don't have a ton of funds at the moment, so I feel like i would be at an advantage by using a rifle that I already own. Would one of those 3 be acceptable, or should I make the investment into a .308, 6.5mm or other popular long range caliber? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Every caliber you currently own can shoot long range with acceptable results. The bad thing is that your calibers are also what I call barrel burners. Meaning that after about 2,000-2,500 rounds your rifling will shot out to the point that it will lose accuracy quickly. As a new long range shooter I would suggest using a caliber that will not beat you to death at the range and make you develop bad habits. The only way to learn with this sport is to get out and shoot. If your shooting a couple thousand rounds a year, you will also need to rebarrel once a year driving the cost up significantly. If it were me and I was just starting out, I would select another caliber that wasn't so hot and I could get 6,000-7,000 rounds out of a barrel.

Unless you reload, those are all going to be expensive to shoot.
    Got a nice 22LR for practice? I'm serious.