6.5 CM Build

6.5 CM Build

This is a discussion on 6.5 CM Build within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hello everyone! I'm new here and have searched but am unable to find an answer. I apologize if this has been asked before. I am ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: 6.5 CM Build

6.5 CM Build

Hello everyone!

I'm new here and have searched but am unable to find an answer. I apologize if this has been asked before. I am new to long range precision shooting. And am very new to "building" one. A reputable gun smith will be doing all my work. I own many guns but I want to build one from the ground up for this purpose. My range has a max of 1000 yards so I want to work my way up. I'm undecided on a traditional stock or a chassis. With a $1500-$2000 budget (insert wife throwing her arms in the air here) a nice chassis may be out of the question. I just want an accurate rifle that I won't outgrow anytime soon. I already have optics I think will suffice (6-24 x 50) so thats not in the equation. On with my question.

Would I be better off to purchase a cheaper action like a Remington 700 and a better barrel, like Krieger or such? Do you think I should do the opposite or just stay midrange on both? I have looked at rifles like the Ruger RPR. I loved the gun but, the feel of the action and the perceived quality of the stock makes me hesitate. Although I have heard of their accuracy, which still makes it a temptation. I just don't want to "have" to spend a bunch more later.

I think I've settled on the 6.5 Creedmoor as I will just be punching paper and maybe an occasional varmint. My 7mm Mag will suffice for anything else.

Thank you for your insight.

Paco

Any gun you buy in the $1500-$2000 range you will want to upgrade in the future if you keep shooting.