Problem with my M14

This is a discussion on Problem with my M14 within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; FWIW, according to Duff's book, short cycle can be caused by: Loose gas cylinder plug. Op rod restriction. Bolt binding. Gas cylinder lock is not ...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Senior Member Tango Alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    287
    FWIW, according to Duff's book, short cycle can be caused by:

    Loose gas cylinder plug.

    Op rod restriction.

    Bolt binding.

    Gas cylinder lock is not installed correctly and gas port is blocked.

    Gas piston is restricted.

    Partially closed spindle valve.

    Improper lube in cold weather.

    Defective ammunition.

    HTH
    Si vis pacem, para bellum

  2. #12
    Super Moderator navyrigger46's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Home sweet home.
    Posts
    3,333
    Thanks everyone, I picked up a disassembly tool today, I'm going to strip her down tonight and see what the problem is.

    Rigger
    I hate to be the cruel hand of reality slapping you across the face but, someone has to do it.

    Life's hard, buy a helmet. You're not going to get coddled around here so get over it.

    http://www.second-amendment.org/

  3. #13
    Senior Member Tango Alpha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    287
    Good. Maybe when you get that fixed you can help me with my M14. Dang thing is ticking me off... good luck...
    Si vis pacem, para bellum

  4. #14
    Senior Member musashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    804
    I would say the gas cylinder is probably going to be the culprit. check the plug and related parts. It is probably the most common reason for short cycles in my experience.
    The difficulty of armed struggle is to make long distances near and make problems into advantages. Sun Tzu

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Nowhere
    Posts
    73
    Navyrigger I just purchased an M1A Springfield Armory and would like know what ultimately corrects this problem as one day I might encounter. Please post your findings on the board, thanks.

  6. #16
    Senior Member mlammers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Buckeye land
    Posts
    1,669
    Is the plug tight, if loose at all this will happen, you can try swapping out for a new one, as its the most likely culprit. Is the cutoff screw turned partway on the gas cylinder, that can also cause it.
    ML313 Founder LOSOK Custom Arms LLC

    www.losokcustomarms.com

    Know your enemy and yourself, and you need not fear the outcome of a hundred battles-SunTzu

    Practice does not make perfect, PERFECT PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT-OSP Drill Instructor

  7. #17
    Super Moderator muzzleblast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Quebexican Defense Force HQ
    Posts
    7,927
    Mine was refusing to cycle at all but I found out I had just missed some cosmoline when I cleaned it. Shoulda cleaned better the first time.

    Boiling water and some dish soap fixed it. It shoots slick now.
    I am dyslexia of Borg, futility is resistant, your &#* will be laminated.

    The People's Moderator!


  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    14
    I'd start with the gas works like all have said. Be sure and use that disassembly tool, or a gun vise. The gas plug is liable to be real hard to break loose. They're usually put on there with 120-180 in lbs of torque. Some anti-seize on the threads will make it easier next time.

    Sadlak sells a pair of twist drill tools to carve the crud out of the gas port and cylinder. Something like that should probably be done every 300 rounds or so.
    John

    Don't Mess With Texas

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    here,there
    Posts
    214

    m14

    i was having a similar problem with my socom2.sent it to sprigfield.just got it back from springfield with a form saying they replaced the bolt.i'm going to call the tech guy and get an exact answer this week.i'll keep u posted.
    If you don't wanna hear the truth spoken,stay far away from me

  10. #20
    Senior Member Black Ops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Beverly Hills California
    Posts
    806
    i was having a similar problem with my socom2.sent it to sprigfield.just got it back from springfield with a form saying they replaced the bolt.i'm going to call the tech guy and get an exact answer this week.i'll keep u posted.


    Big Lee give me a ring if you need me to take a look at your Socom2 I would be happy to. They can be a little tricky if you don't know what you are looking for, we are repairing 6 of them that another smith thought he knew what he was doing but I guess they got the best of him. Anyone can have a bad day in the shop...

    You should have my number Brother... 310-275-8797

    Mike
    Tac Ops
    "Every Great Warrior deserves a Great Death"

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Scope Problem/Site in problem
    By Caska in forum Optics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-31-2009, 12:40 AM
  2. 700 VSF Problem?
    By Kilgore112 in forum Rifles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-05-2007, 09:22 PM
  3. M-14/M1A problem
    By ekaphoto in forum Rifles
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 09:21 PM

Search tags for this page

gas rod in m1a rifle doesnt slide freely freely
,
m14 achilles heel
,
m14 bolt does not cycle
,
m1a gas piston problems
,

norinco m14 is not cycling

,
norinco m14 not cycling
,
problem with the norinco m14 braaking the bolt when scoped
Click on a term to search for related topics.