Why is the 308 winchester soooooooooooooo popular?

This is a discussion on Why is the 308 winchester soooooooooooooo popular? within the Cartridges & Calibers forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I'm new to this but it seems that almost every rifle i look at is a 308/ 7.62. i know its a good hunting round ...

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

I'm new to this but it seems that almost every rifle i look at is a 308/ 7.62.
    i know its a good hunting round but why is it so popular for snipers? are there not special calibers that would be better? what i mean is, im trying to stay on track, if the rifle is so specialized and basicly custom, right? and the scopes (GOD!) SO specialized w/ differtent reticles and magnification and stuff. even the rings. then why use a common round like the 308? i mean you guys mostly load up your own bullets anyway right? so isnt there a flatter shooting bullet out there that could be used w alot of power?
    what about the 6.5mm bullets? they are supposed to be the best for penetrating and shooting flat. then again im just going on some talk iv heard.
    which is why im asking here.
    "gosh darn-it, somebodys got to go back and get a @#$*load of dimes"

For starters .308 is popular because it is one of the most common rounds around due to it being a NATO round. Secondly it is much cheaper to shoot then a lot of other rounds. Also with it being used as a military round it carries alot of prestiege. Mind you .308 is not perfect but is a good round in the aspect of it retains energy better then some of the smaller rounds due to it being .30 cal. Example if you have a .270 round and a .308 round that are fired (and both carrying the same muzzle energy @ 500 yards the .270 will have bleed off more energy then the .308. This is not to say that a smaller caliber is not better, after all I shoot 7mm Rem Mag, but it is a simple case of ballistics also.