Stainless?????

Stainless?????

This is a discussion on Stainless????? within the DIY forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I heard a rumor that all things being equal, a stainless barrel won't last as long as a chromoly barrel. I'm no expert, but I ...

Thread: Stainless?????

Stainless?????

I heard a rumor that all things being equal, a stainless barrel won't last as long as a chromoly barrel. I'm no expert, but I have
    cut both stainless steel and chromoly steel, and its hard for me to imagine a stainless barrel not lasting longer than a chromoly one.
    Is there anyone out there who can fill me in........

When I was in the shooting industry 35+ years ago, stainless was just starting to come of age. I have owned many stainless handguns when they first hit the shelves, still have a stainless 1911 Coonan .357 mag that I bought when it first came out in the early 80's. The first claims were always that stainless was softer and would not last as long. Dealing with stainless knives, I would agree, not 100% sure the same applied with barrels, but the science followed suit.

The one thing about stainless, based on metalurgy, is that stainless had a higher propensity to movement. As the barrel warmed it tended to move in a circular motion, in the direction of the twist. Although this was just science, it made sense.

Several reliable sources in the industry supported this theory, all things being equal. The problem with "all things being equal" is they never are. We have too many variables in this sport to support many of the claims out there. Powder type, powder charge, bullet weight, bullet brand and type etc..... I have felt for years that these "variables" were from people who just could not shoot. Just my opinon.

Kenny

Im no expert either but perhaps its how ss absorbs heat that makes the difference. it may be harder but not absorb heat the same way, causing issues

4. Remove Advertisements
    SniperForums.com
    Advertisements