Budget optic or save up

Budget optic or save up

This is a discussion on Budget optic or save up within the Optics forums, part of the Sniping Related category; So I have a Howa 1500 in .308. I put a Vortex Crossfire on it so I could get out and shoot. I definitely do ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Budget optic or save up

Budget optic or save up

So I have a Howa 1500 in .308. I put a Vortex Crossfire on it so I could get out and shoot. I definitely do not expect that to be an optic for long range shooting. I was wondering if anyone has any experience. with SWFA's 3-15 optic? Is it worth buying and learning on? I am new to long range shooting so advice is appreciated. I was looking to spend roughly $500-$1000 (at this time), other suggestions welcomed.

Save. Then put the Crossfire on a 22LR trainer.
    Then save up for reloading equipment.
    You will not outgrow the Howa for a while.
    By the time you are dialed in on reloading you will start to see the limits of your skills and equipment and be able to plot your next move.
    Martino1 and BigRed502 like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Hypo View Post
    Save. Then put the Crossfire on a 22LR trainer.
    Then save up for reloading equipment.
    You will not outgrow the Howa for a while.
    By the time you are dialed in on reloading you will start to see the limits of your skills and equipment and be able to plot your next move.
    There are tons of folks (myself included) who will second this advice. I have spent money unnecessarily due to not heeding this bit of advice.

4. Remove Advertisements
    SniperForums.com
    Advertisements

I echo Oilfield and Hypo's words of wisdom.