.300 Win Mag reload

.300 Win Mag reload

This is a discussion on .300 Win Mag reload within the Product Review Requests forums, part of the SniperForums.com & SniperCentral.com Related category; I've been reloading for 35 years or so, had and interesting question for y'all. I had loaded a box of ammo for my 110 BA ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unhappy .300 Win Mag reload

I've been reloading for 35 years or so, had and interesting question for y'all. I had loaded a box of ammo for my 110 BA Savage in 300 Win Mag, 200 gr. Sierra Match BTHP with 70 gr. H4831SC. This is a new gun with less than 100 rounds through it. I had been forced to use Winchester Mag primers prior, due to avail. issues:-(, with less than great results. I had 4 duds in 40 rounds. I finally got some of my favorite Remington primers and loaded up a fresh box and shot yesterday. I walked away feeling pretty good with a 5 shot 3/4" group at 100 yards, this is still the first load I have tested. I was loading up some more this morning and discovered I had used regular primers not the Magnum ones. Question is: How much does the mag vs std primer really affect the round?

Another big variable is powder type. Some powders will not reliably ignite without magnum primers. My favorite load in the 300 WM was a 180 gr. Bullet with 80 grs of H450 and a Fed 215 primer. Sadly, they discontinued this powder soon after I worked up that load. This load clocked at 3000 fps with an extreme spread of 5 fps. I think that is the lowest ES of any load I've come up with.

Whole crap I've never got a ES spread less than 8 through 10 rounds. Desert Ghost nice work.