7 Rem Mag vs 308

7 Rem Mag vs 308

This is a discussion on 7 Rem Mag vs 308 within the Product Review Requests forums, part of the SniperForums.com & SniperCentral.com Related category; Hey I'm new to the sight and I am having a problem choosing a new elk rifle. I elk hunt in Wyoming and have chances ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: 7 Rem Mag vs 308

7 Rem Mag vs 308

Hey I'm new to the sight and I am having a problem choosing a new elk rifle. I elk hunt in Wyoming and have chances to shoot decent bulls but am not comfortable with my dads old .270 win past 350+ yards at an elk. I have decided between the 7mag and the .308 any input would be nice. Also there is very heavy wind where I am at. Thanks.

Wow. Those two rounds are on opposite ends of the spectrum. I would be choosing between 7 mag and 300WM if I were considering a magnum. A 270 will actually have better ballistics and more energy as a round than the 308 if you can find a round that will shoot accurately in the gun.

7mm is flat shooting and has a good selection of bullets, but flat shooting is not as important past 300 yards in my opinion because you will need to set the scope anyway. 300wm with heavy bullets will buck the wind well. 308 would work, but would be at the low end of energy for what I would choose for elk hunting.
    scrmblr1982cj8 and Orkan like this.
    Desert Tech SRS A1 with TS Customs 308 win, 22 CM, and 7 LRM barrels
    Primal Rights 40x .22LR Repeater
    NRA LIFE MEMBER
    Hidden Content

Banned
    7mm for sure.

And, yeah, choices should be 7mm vs. .300 WM

4. Remove Advertisements
    SniperForums.com
    Advertisements

Thanks for the help. The reason I was thinking of a .308 was so I can shoot antelope and deer with out totally destroying them like the 300WM.