new reloader - question about primers

This is a discussion on new reloader - question about primers within the Reloading forums, part of the Sniping Related category; I'm brand new to reloading and will be working up a load using IMR 4064, 175 gn SMK bullets, and new Winchester brass for my ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: new reloader - question about primers

I'm brand new to reloading and will be working up a load using IMR 4064, 175 gn SMK bullets, and new Winchester brass for my Rem 700P in .308. I was planning to use Federal match primers but can't seem to find them in stock anywhere. So my question is how much of a difference will I see in the load (if any at all for a new long distance shooter/reloader) with the federal match primers vs. something like CCI regular large rifle primers? The price difference isn't that much so I figured I'd go match, but now that I can't find them I'm wondering if I should wait until I find them in stock or get what I can now and start shooting/working up a load. Thanks in advance for the help.

Quote Originally Posted by Catalyst66 View Post
    I'm brand new to reloading and will be working up a load using IMR 4064, 175 gn SMK bullets, and new Winchester brass for my Rem 700P in .308. I was planning to use Federal match primers but can't seem to find them in stock anywhere. So my question is how much of a difference will I see in the load (if any at all for a new long distance shooter/reloader) with the federal match primers vs. something like CCI regular large rifle primers? The price difference isn't that much so I figured I'd go match, but now that I can't find them I'm wondering if I should wait until I find them in stock or get what I can now and start shooting/working up a load. Thanks in advance for the help.
    I'd get what I could now and work up the load. You can always reevaluate when and if the FMPs become available. I have not seen FMPs in a few years here and use whatever I can get.