Once fired brass fitment in chamber

Once fired brass fitment in chamber

This is a discussion on Once fired brass fitment in chamber within the Reloading forums, part of the Sniping Related category; A few months back I got myself a tikka t3x ctr in 6.5 and over the last 3 months have been piling up federal gold ...

Question Once fired brass fitment in chamber

A few months back I got myself a tikka t3x ctr in 6.5 and over the last 3 months have been piling up federal gold medal match ammo to use for it.
    put 200 rounds through my tikka to use fire formed brass to begin reloading, but when I was going to size the brass to fit my chamber I realized that the once fired brass had either not expanded completely throughout the chamber or I am going nuts.
    All of the brass I checked(20 fish pieces) chambered without any resistance and chambered smoothly.
    I am very new to reloading so I am unsure why this is, all of the brass I've fired through my rem700 300 wm has expanded greatly, almost impossible to chamber the brass.
    any thoughts on this?

6.5 CM has a little different shoulder then the .308 or .223. It's not uncommon to use a Lee Collet Die on once fired 6.5 CM brass, and still chamber. After that you will most likely have to full length resize, especially when you start reloading hotter loads.

The federal gold medal match brass should be good for 3, 4 maybe more, reloads before the primer pockets get loose. Once that brass is used up I would recommend switching to Lapua brass.

Good luck and have fun.
    NRA LIFE MEMBER

USAF 1966-1970, SEA 69-70

Ok, to my understanding on your post, your once fired brass fits nicely back in your chamber. And your concern is brass didn't expand. Since your new to reloading I'm going to give you few pointers on that. Based from my 5 years of experience and having consistent velocity and shot placements due to quality ammo.