worthwhile using a .22 for learning?

This is a discussion on worthwhile using a .22 for learning? within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Hello all, I'm pretty much completely new to the whole marksmanship thing, but I wanted to start training myself, and I have a few options ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello all, I'm pretty much completely new to the whole marksmanship thing, but I wanted to start training myself, and I have a few options for my starter rifle. My family owns a few firearms, a pair of .22s, a 30-30, and 2 30-06's to be precise. I'm a relatively unwealthy college student at the moment, so buying a new rifle is not an option for me, and I was examining prices for ammunition. the ammunition of the 30-30s was not nearly as plentiful as the other two (and I am not in a sportsman-heavy area). I would love to start out on the 06, but money is tight-ish, and I'm wondering if there is much merit to the idea of starting closer range and learning basic marksmanship on the .22 (with its ridiculously cheap ammunition) before moving up to a heavier rifle.

feel free to point me in the error of my ways, be nice if it suits your fancy. here to learn and see what I can pick up

thanks!

22 is a great learning tool, perfect for getting lots of trigger time.

A 22 is THE BEST for learning and keeping your skills up. Don't even touch a larger caliber until you get good with the .22.
    John

1.Humans are more important than Hardware.

2.Quality is better than Quantity.

3.Special Operations Forces cannot be mass produced.

4.Competent Special Operations Forces cannot be created after emergencies occur.

4. Remove Advertisements
    SniperForums.com
    Advertisements