My New DPMS LR308L Lightweight

This is a discussion on My New DPMS LR308L Lightweight within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Well I have been visiting this forum for a few years now but this is my first time posting, I believe. Not too long ago ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Well I have been visiting this forum for a few years now but this is my first time posting, I believe.

Not too long ago I decided I wanted to step into an SR25/AR10 style weapon system. For those of you who have made the same decision at some point know that there are a lot of aspects and components to consider. In the end, I decided on buying a completed rifle as opposed to doing a build. The DPMS LR308L (Lightweight model) ultimately seemed to offer the best platform. I was a little hesitant about the lightweight barrel it is equipped with but, after doing some calling and some internet research my doubts were lifted. Although it is of a lighter construction, it is built to withstand abuse. Overall the rifle is built for accuracy and packability.

I had looked at the SASS and MK12 models but after looking at the overall quality, the LR308L really seemed to be of a higher quality.

As far as attachments, i kept it pretty low key to start. I fitted it with a Bushnell Elite 3200 Tactical- a piece of glass I have had great luck with in the past- and a Harris bipod with the swivel feature. I also picked up a XS product X25 drum mag for it. If you are not familiar with these units, they are nothing like the BETA drums. They are very cool and durable units.