Reloading 300 Win Mag

Reloading 300 Win Mag

This is a discussion on Reloading 300 Win Mag within the Rifles forums, part of the Sniping Related category; Ok, this was my first time reloading. I over loaded the grains by a lot. I made 50 rounds. Can I pull the bullets off ...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By straightshooter1

Thread: Reloading 300 Win Mag

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    53

    Reloading 300 Win Mag

    Ok, this was my first time reloading. I over loaded the grains by a lot. I made 50 rounds. Can I pull the bullets off and reload them again without losing the bullet or powder? Or is it better to just keep the brass and primers and lose the powder and bullet? As well, how do I pull the bullet?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Senior Member ddd oo7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    5,136
    You need a bullet puller. Inertia will work fine with no damage to Bullets. As long as you know what powder it is you can re use it. Collet bullet puller by hornady is what I typically use.
    Desert Tech SRS A1 with TS Customs 308 win, 22 CM, and 7 LRM barrels
    Primal Rights 40x .22LR Repeater
    NRA LIFE MEMBER
    Hidden Content

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    53
    Will the powder be wasted with the bullet puller? It’s like a hammer, yes?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. Remove Advertisements
    SniperForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member ddd oo7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    5,136
    The powder and bullet will be contained in an inertia (hammer) puller. Not hard to salvage them.
    Desert Tech SRS A1 with TS Customs 308 win, 22 CM, and 7 LRM barrels
    Primal Rights 40x .22LR Repeater
    NRA LIFE MEMBER
    Hidden Content

  6. #5
    Senior Member straightshooter1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    541
    Quote Originally Posted by Raymond Balducci View Post
    Ok, this was my first time reloading. I over loaded the grains by a lot. I made 50 rounds. Can I pull the bullets off and reload them again without losing the bullet or powder? Or is it better to just keep the brass and primers and lose the powder and bullet? As well, how do I pull the bullet?
    You can use an inertia (hammer) puller and reuse all the components . . . even the powder. Though when I used to use one, I had a few granules of powder fly out each time though the small spaces in the collet that held the cartridge. And doing 50 rounds is a lot, IMHO, when using this type of puller. I'd recommend going with the likes of a Hornady Bullet Puller as it's actually easier and faster to use.

    Raymond Balducci likes this.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    53
    By the way. My COS is 3.340 and my ammo came to 3.442. The difference is the ballistic tip. Will that interfere with the chamber?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    1
    I prefer the Hornady Cam Lock puller. If you chamfer and debur your case mouths well and get a feel for how much pressure you need to pull the caliber you can get away with not marring up the round. The powder stays in the case unlike an inertia hammer. I can never get all the powder out of the inertia style hammer so it'll get mixed some with different powders. To get proper neck tension you'll need to re-size the neck on pulled cases. Keep in mind you'll have a live primer so hopefully you can remove the decapping pin on your sizing die. I've pulled plenty of rounds after doing load development.

    SAAMI spec COL is 3.340, but, If your chamber-to-lands(throat) and magazines(if applicable) allow for it, there is no issue loading long. Not sure what rifle you're running but typically factory rifles are cut with a longer throat to accommodate all the factory offerings. Most custom rifle builders minimize the throat to increase accuracy. As an example, my 300WM has a shorter throat to allow me to load Berger VLD bullets closer to mag length and still fit in my AI mags. To get this level of loading precision you'll need to control your seating depth with a micrometer style die and have calipers setup to measure your ogive/COAL.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •