Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I am new to reloading. Bought a bunch of Lee stuff. Stickys in this forum were very helpful. Reloaded some 30-06 rounds today.

I used Nosler 168gr BTHP competition bullets. They have load data on their website. I used 57gr of Accurate 4350 (nosler published max and most accurate load) and I set the overall length to 3.32"
30-06 Springfield Load Data ? Nosler

Questions:

Is this a good starting point for an accurate long range target round.

I'm looking to work up 4 rounds.

1) Long range target round (500-800 yards)

2) Whitetail round

3) Varmint round (coyote and smaller animals)

4) Short range target round with reduced recoil

Any suggestions? Can all of these be accomplished with 4350?

The only real surprise I had was static electricity causing the powder to stick to the walls of my plastic lee funnel. I painstakingly made sure every one of the little powder grains made it into the brass case. Any suggestions for this? A metal funnel might be better

·
Premium Member
4,710 Posts
Whoa whoa whoa. First, you never start with a max load, NEVER. Max may be fine in one gun, but really dangerous in another. Start with the minimum load and work up to the max charge, while watching for signs of over pressure.

I would make only one target round. Shoot that round and learn it. Build a drop chart for that one round. If 30/06 has to much kick, get a muzzle break.

Then I personally would make one hunting round. I would then make it with a bullet that has the same weight (or really close) as my target round. Will they impact to the same point? No. But they will be close enough for hunting. That way your not having to re-zero your rifle every time you shoot it.

Wipe your powder funnel out with a used dryer sheet. Then make sure your not storing your powder funnel and scale near anything that causes static electricity.

·
Registered
131 Posts