Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering what 308 ammo people were useing off the shelf. I just picked up a sako trg 22 and I have never used 308 ammo before and was wondering what was the best out there for long range. Thanks for the help.

Josh

·
Registered
994 Posts
Try a search: there are a number of threads on the first page in the proper forum.

Welcome to the boards.

Scatch Maroo

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did a search about the ammo. Came up with a few things but I was just wondering what most people were useing.

·
Registered
1,238 Posts
The only out of the box ammo I use is Fed. GMM 1682 or 175, other than that its my handloads.

JeffVN

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
I would say a majority of people use federal GMM. Here is a list of some ammo that I use:

Federal GMM 168 & 175
M118
M118LR
PMC Match 168
Black Hills 168 & 185 Match

I've also recently tried the PMC 308D 168 FMJBT (non match), and it was junk.

I'll also soon be using some Lapua

MEL

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks guys. I went out looking and found a gun store that was going out of bissness. So there ammo was on sale. I picked up a few different brands to try out. But I think I am going to order some black hills 185gr match and try to.
Here is what i picked up to day
FED.gold match 168gr.
hornady BTHP match 168gr.
hornady 150gr. sst
frd. 150gr. nosler ballistic tip

·
Premium Member
7,927 Posts
I had a question, and since this is about 308 ammo anyway it seems like a good place to ask...Should I move this to Cartridges and Calibers, Mel?

Anyway, my question...168 grain ammo from a 308 or 30-06 only runs into problems once it starts to go subsonic, right? is that why it isn't as good as the heavier match ammo?

You bought some great ammo, O.S.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
yeah i should have posted this in the Cartridges and Calibers

·
Premium Member