Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 111 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

Im new to the forum (yes i went through the introduction section already). Im looking to get into shooting long range 500 yards average but would travel to ranges with 1000+ yard ranges. I don't plan on ever making it beyond 1000 with my beginner setup. Im looking into the classic 700 SPS varmint in 308. But when price checking rifles I saw for a little more money I can purchase 6.5s and even 300 win mags. So my question is, should I stick with the 308 for starters? I do not reload but down the line it is something I would be interested in learning. Money isn't abundant-I am a college student! I have looked for some comparisons on the forum but can't seem to find anything fitting my position.

Background:
Shooting a few years
Couple hunting rifles-30-06 & 243
No problem with recoil
I own multiple 22s and shoot them often ~ 100 rounds a week.

Thanks for any help in the future. I look forward to hearing from those with more experience than myself.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Learn it on .308...

With 6.5mm or .300 Win Mag, you have expensive ammo. Also, barrels last a lot less than .308. Why waste barrel life learning fundamentals and wind?

Get the Long Range Shooting Handbook by Ryan Cleckner. Very good book to read before you start buying stuff.

·
Registered
299 Posts
I would go with a 308 the round is ballistically inferior, but while your learning it will help amplifi your mistakes.

·
Registered
5,147 Posts
I went with 308 and it is a good round and excellent shooter, but I have wished several times over that I had bought a 6.5 barrel instead.

Forget barrel life. It likely will never be an issue for you and by the time it is an issue you will be ready to upgrade anyway. How many shot out barrels have you heard of aside from guys shootings competition? And you won't likely be shooting competition with that rifle anyway.

·
Registered
5,147 Posts