Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to know what everybody's 45acp pistol preferences were. I own a Kimber Custom CDP II 45 and love it but have always here people talk about the Glocks and Sigs in the same caliber and wonder how they all compare (i.e. accuracy, recoil, durability, carry weight, etc.)

I have hung my hat on the 45 until I die but wanted to know how these other brands compare to the 1911 models and why you would choose them...Thanks!

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
I am by no means a pistol expert, but I have a shot a few .45's including LLama's, Colts, H&k's but have no real info to add. BUT, I would like to add to the thread and state my desire to hear any experience with the CZ97B. This pistol sure looks like a nice gun to me and I've been thinking of picking one up sometime.

MEL

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
Try the HK USP 45, the recoil reduction system built into it makes it a joy to shoot, and yes The City bought me mine. I love it.

·
Registered
524 Posts
!

I would put in a vote for the HK USP.45

I actually prefer it over my 1911. Compared to the 1911 they have the same grip angle but my HK holds more rounds....is lighter...and has very little recoil so my double taps groups are about identical with my 1911.

·
Registered
994 Posts
Recoil said:
So, if you're just plinking and don't mind 1 or 2 second follow-up shots, polymer framed pistols are okay. But if you like double or tripple taps, or just emptying all 7 or 8 rounds into the same area rapidly, stick with any of the classic 1911 designs. Your Kimber was a good choice and I'll stand by you on it any day.
I disagree: both my G27 (subcompact .40) and G30 (compact .45) are quite suitable to quick repeated shots--it takes a bit of practice, but it's not a monumental feat.

Scatch Maroo

·
Registered
492 Posts