Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
http://www.bob-oracle.com/SWATreport.htm

This article basically claims that the stopping power issues complained about by soldiers in CQB is not actually a problem, if one were to make the proper shots in the head/chest area. It cites poor marksmanship and non lethal shots as the primary cause as to the belief that the 5.56 mm M855/SS109 Steel Core Penetrator has insufficent stopping power, yet concedes some soldiers disagreed, stating that it took multiple shots to the vitals to down the occasional target.

My though on this is really the fact that it is naive to expect perfect shots on the vitals at all times. As such, I want a round capable of stopping on a miss as well. However, I am not an expert on such things, with no experience in such a field.

What do you guys think?

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
One word: S.A.W.

No really, it is a pretty good article. I do agree with him to an extent. But what about the dude high on drugs? I can see that the 223 would (does) have problems with that.

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
madgunsmith said:
I don't see anyone volunteering to get shot with one...

Mad
Can I punch you in the testicles? It certainly doesn't have the energy of a 5.56 mm, but i'll be damned if it'll hurt you :lol:

·
Registered
565 Posts
I've never been in combat and hope I never will.

But I have done a lot of CQB training. And I know one thing, "proper shot placement" is a luxury you don't have too often in CQB. In essence, a typical exploding varmint bullet would do the trick. But then there's thing about not killing your enemy quick and without pain, instead of letting him suffer a few hours before death... :roll: If one is to follow the Hague convention there's really no easy solution - apart from some cannonball sized bullet - like the .458 SOCOM. But of course, that leads to tons of other problems...

·
Registered
1,357 Posts