Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
This is my first post to any time on a forum. So I'm pretty green to this lol but I'm going to try to explain my issues in the most detail I can and hopefully I can get my issues resolved. I apologie in advance if this get real lengthy...

From the top.
I started practicing my shooting abilities at farther ranges with my Browning xbolt 22" .308 than I'm accustom to (being 0-250 yards). I started practicing out to 400 yards with good results after that I was hooked!
I wanted to go farther, flatter, and harder.

I settled on a brand new Remington BDL 24" 7mm rem mag.
With money i had saved up i took it directly to one of the best reviewed gunsmiths in my area of WI to have the barrel free floated, the action bedded and have a 2.5 lb Timney trigger installed. Man I thought this thing was gonna shoot clover leafs when I got done with her.
I also mounted a leupold VX5-hd on it with leupold scope mounts/bases which I had loctited and torqued to spec.

After which I took it to the range.
I was dumbfounded that I could not get it to group inside a snuff can circle at 100 yards I tried a wide variety of premium ammo. Federal premium, nosler partition, accubonds, remington core lokt, and hornady.
Bullet weights from 139 to 180. No change could not group.
I thought maybe its the scope. Put the scope on a Browning A bolt 22" I had. Grouped close to a inside a quarter at 100 yards.
This is my first magnum rifle. I thought it could be user error flinching perhaps. So I shot the 7mm rem mag with light 139 hornadys beside my Browning BAR ii 30-06 loaded with hot 180gr. No change.. 30-06 grouped fine, 7mm grouped poorly.
I forgot to mention I was aware of the magnums getting warm barrels. I allowed 10 to 15 minutes in-between shots.
At this point I thought the rifle was either defective or my gunsmith had messed up my rifle.