Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to have a 260 remington upper made for an AR10, and I was wondering what peoples thoughts were. I would like to go with a shorter barrel, 22", but wasn't sure if that would be considered too short.

Any thoughts?

John

PS I am not currently doing reloading, but I will be in the near future. So 22 would probably be too short, but I am no expert by any means on ballistics.

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
It sounds like a great project to me. Especially if I get some custom loaded long range .260 ammo manufactured. Please keep us posted.

The 22" tube is going to lose a bit of velocity, but it shouldn't be too terrible.

MEL

·
Registered
3 Posts
If it is going to be a "sniper" rifle, usually the extra couple of inches doesn't make a huge difference at 500+ yards. For benchrest shooting, even hundredths of an inch, count. Where it starts to pinch is the weight of your rifle because of the extra 8+ inches of barrel.

Standard rifle barrels are 24". I've seen benchrest firearms with 34" of meat sticking out from the end of the stock. If you plan on carrying it in the woods, etc., I wouldn't want anymore than 24". It just gets in the way.

If you start handloading, you could use faster powder to make sure you get peak pressure while the bullet is still in the barrel. I'm not familiar with the .260 other than basic ballistics; I don't even know what type of powders work better than others. Maybe someone else would be more qualified to comment on this post.

·
Registered
114 Posts
hmmmm that is kind of a controversial signature isnt it? is there something you need to talk about man? we are here for you.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Personally... i would go 24" barrel with a 260 Rem caliber. Longer barrels never hurt anything.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
LONG TRA'NG said: