Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting into precision shooting and have a couple of questions. First, does anyone know of a good gunsmith in the Albuquerque area? I just picked up a 700 vs .308 with a Nikon Monarch UCC 6.5-20x (target rig) and would like to have the lugs lapped, action blueprinted, etc. Also, how do you measure the correct length of pull you should be using?

·
Registered
1,797 Posts
Before you go to the expense of seeking out a gunsmith, how does the thing shoot?

Get some Federal Match Ammo and test-fire the rifle from a proper bench rest. If you are just starting out and unsure of your shooting ability, have an experienced, proven marksman fire your rifle.

It may well be that you are "pulling" your shots. You might have a really accurate rifle and not know it.

Please don't think that I'm casting any aspersions as to your marksmanship. I'm a mediocre shot myself and sometimes I use experienced shooters to test my loads and guns. :)

Mad

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
To answer the first question, no, I do not know any smiths in that area. But you can ship your own rifle to any smith in the country without issue.

I like Mad's suggestion. Go fire it first and see where its at. Heck, it might be a .5 rifle as it sits!! No need to pay all the money if it already shoots well

MEL

G

·
0 Posts
rifle

Congrats on getting your rifle. I totally agree with Mel and Mad. I have owned two Remington 700 PSS and both shot .50 moa (at 100 yards) out of the box with no break in on the barrel. Such as Mad said, have an experienced rifleman check it out for you, but use the Federal Gold Medal ammo he mentioned. That is the benchmark that all .308 precision rounds are based on. As for the gun smith I cannot answer that.

Tom

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5