Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Inspired by Orkan's comment in a recent thread. How many of you guys shoot with both eyes open? I'm a habitual one-eye shooter and, to be honest, am not sure I understand the benefits of aiming with both eyes open.

If you're one of the guys in the both eyes open camp, can you provide any training tips? Thanks in advance.

·
Banned
2,249 Posts
Both eyes open. It's easier on my eyes to shoot with them both open. I don't want to squint for 3-5 hours during a match, that would be uncomfortable.

·
Registered
93 Posts
I used to shoot one eye open. then I used a patch over my non dominant eye and made things a lot more comfortable. Then I started shooting my bow without the patch and my natural point of aim seemed to always be on point. I vote both eyes open much more comfortable for sure and for me gives me a great natural point of aim.

·
Premium Member
3,012 Posts
Got to have both open or yu end up straining the one open eye.

I am able to focus on wind flags with my left eye and thr target with my right. The two 'ghost' together like a head up display. It makes getting the shot off in bad weather much easier.

Initially though I wore an eye blind (or had one stuck on the side of the rifle). It allowed my to keep the eye open, but have a blank image. Importantly though, the eye blind was translucent though, so it did let light through. This meant that both eyes get the same amount of light, so reduce the eye strain, but the side on the eye blind wasn't distracted by an image.

·
Registered
2,949 Posts
It has been very tough for me to shoot with both eyes using a rifle or pistol, but a rifle is a little easier. My main issue is that I am right handed but left eye dominant. You can learn to cope with that but it requires a hell of a lot of concentration.