Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, my first post here at Sniper Central.

I have been loading handgun ammo for about 6 years on a Dillon 550 progressive press but now I want to start loading some .308. Is it possible to load quality precision match grade .308 ammo on a progressive press? I hate to go buy a single stage set-up when I already have the Dillon if it can produce what I need.

·
Registered
4,695 Posts
You can use the 550B like a single stage if you wanted. I like to trim and prep my brass and also weigh each powder charge so a progressive wouldn't work to good although I also have a 550B. Also depending on the powder some don't meter too well through the powder thrower like the stick powders.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks,

That is something I was thinking. To keep from buying another press and taking up more room on my smallish bench, just get my conv. kit, dies and another toolhead and use the 550 as a single stage. Trim, prep and manually charge each case as you normally would and only use the 550 to size and seat. Does anyone else here do this?

·
Registered
153 Posts
I have never loaded .308 in a progressive, but I have done .223 . I have a Steyr SL that will shoot .25 MOA when I do my part on ammo I have loaded as a single stage with ordinary RCBS dies. I have a Lee Progressive 1000 I used to load up a bunch of SHTF .223 and no matter how I prepped the cases, I was never able to get it under about .75 . Now, that may have been the equipment, or some other factor.

I have noticed the exact same thing when loading 9mm and .45 in the progressive. It is fabulous for doing plinking and "high volume" ammo, but I personally wouldn't try doing match grade ammo in a progressive. I just think there are too many variables like shell plate mis-alignment, powder charge inconsistencies , etc.