Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started shooting at ranges beyond 100 yards, so now I'm in the world of using hold overs and dope sheets. My gun has been zeroed in at 100 yards and zero-stop adjusted. My scope has 20 MOA increments per turn in 1/4 moa adjustments. So my question is when I calculate my ballistic data from a zero of 100 yards to a distance of 600 yards, my drop at 600 yards is 15.26 MOA, so am I correct that I just use the closest MOA scope adjustment on my elevation turret? So in this example, do I dial my turrets to 15.25 MOA? Or do I go to the next highest MOA adjustment which will be 15.50?

Another question: If my scope has a total of 100 MOA of elevation adjustment, where is the factory default setting? Is it directly in the middle at 50 MOA?

Thanks,

Rick

· Registered
3,129 Posts
The first thing you should do is a tall target test and make sure your scope adjustments are what the manufacturer says they are. Otherwise adjustments won't match up.

As far as what you do in the situation at 600 yards, it's up to you, I would dial to whatever is closest to the actual drop. In that situation you probably won't out shoot that difference.

· Registered
891 Posts
Another question: If my scope has a total of 100 MOA of elevation adjustment, where is the factory default setting? Is it directly in the middle at 50 MOA? jiofi.local.html tplinklogin is it down
Interesting. Never thought of it. I don't think they are sitting in middle of it. That would mean the scope will most likely waste 50 MOA.

Let's see. For example, my scope has total of 26 mils travel. When I zeroed it, I had to come up little more than 2 mils. Now I have about 22 Mils left to play around. So, that means it was at about 2 mils. I guess they left some travel at the bottom just in case.

· Registered
5,231 Posts