Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As my duty pistol, I have been carrying a Glock 22 chambered for the .40 S&W cartridge. This pistol is standard issue for us and I love it. It is accurate, light, and has never jammed on me in a firefight. I have been carrying this pistol for about 3 years and am looking into carrying a different weapon. The Bureau has a list of approved weapons that Agents can carry. I have been looking into the Sig Sauer P226 and the Kimber TLE. The Sig is in 9mm and the Kimber is in .45 ACP. I am leaning toward the P226 because it has a higher capacity, but i know the .45 is going to have more power. I am almost fully sure I will go with the Sig, but i just wanted your guys' opinions. What do you think of these weapons.

·
Registered
524 Posts
!

The kimber gets my vote.

Better grip angle and feel (for me anyway)
A easier to conceal gun (thin)
I like .45 over 9mm.

Oh yeah I don't really care for sigs....

I say go shoot them both and then make your choice.

There is a reason your HRT guys carry 1911's.

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
+ for the .45

·
Registered
4,795 Posts
+ for the .45. Most firefights happen at close range, and you usually fire no more than 3 rounds. Also the 9mm has had problems in the past with putting people down that are whacked out on drugs. The ..45 tends to hit harder and stop them better. Granted ammo is better for the 9mm than it used to be, but the same goes for the .45. That is my reasoning. Also good .45 mags are cheap so carrying extra ammo is not a problem. I have been carrying the glock 22 the last few years since we have no option, but I would rather have a .45. My off duty carry gun is a sig P220 in .45 BTW, so I practice what I preach. In the end if you shoot one better tha the other go with that one, since shot placement is the #1 factor.

·
Registered
994 Posts