Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a complete newbie when it comes to working on gun. I was just wondering how hard it is to build a precision rifle that is capable of 1 to 1/2 moa. I know there will be guys that say to just buy one but I've always had the desire to build things like this. I just want to know if I was able to get the right parts would I be able to build this gun?

Sent from my HTC One A9 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,505 Posts
Depends on what type of a rifle you want to build. An AR is relatively easy, a bolt gun is another ball game.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Depends on what type of a rifle you want to build. An AR is relatively easy, a bolt gun is another ball game.
Could I realistically build a precision AR rifle that could go 1k and further. What calibers would I have to choose from?

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Could I realistically build a precision AR rifle that could go 1k and further. What calibers would I have to choose from?

That's an amazing article!! I've already built two AR platform rifle but nothing to fancy. I think this could be a real option for me. If you have any recommendations of places to get high end parts for a rifle like this it would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
5,234 Posts
Get a trued Remington 700 action from either PTG or Bruno.

Get a Criterion "Rem-age" barrel in your caliber and cartridge of choosing, and install it on the action above.

Pillar and Glass both into a decent take-off laminate stock, or one from McMillan, Manners, or HS Precision.

Carefully mount a decent sighting system.

Clean everything up, torque to spec, and begin loading to find the load that will hammer the centers out of targets.

-Nate

·
Registered
1,291 Posts

Get a Criterion "Rem-age" barrel in your caliber and cartridge of choosing, and install it on the action above.