Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been wanting to get a rifle for some time now. Now that I have a job im hoping it might be a month to get one. I want a Rem 700P but not sure what scope, rings, bi-pod, ect to go with. Ive been looking around on here and it seems like its going to add up fast. I was told 200-300 dollar scopes are pretty much crap. So what should I look at spend on a good glass? And I read that rings can cost 100 dollars, did I read that right? Dont really need a bi-pod but would be nice. Is there any thing else that I need that im leaving out. Thanks

·
Premium Member
7,927 Posts
What is the most money you can afford to spend on mounts and scope? Thats how much it will cost you. :)

·
Registered
43 Posts
Muzzleblast's answer is short but right on the money (pun intended).

I'm a newb myself, but i recommend saving and not buying until you have enough to buy the very best or almost the very best. Cause if you buy something mediocre, after you really get into, you will wish you had bought the very best and will have to spend even more in the long run.

and something that i keep reading in this forums is that you really get for what you pay in optics and rifles.

if you're curious this was my invoice when i bought my rifle:

REM 700 P $749.00
Leupold V-X 3 3.5-10x40mm LR M3 MilDot $790.00
Leupold Mark 4 one piece base $119.98
Leupold Mark 4 30mm rings $149.98
FDLE background check $5.00
tax $126.63
total $1940.59

getting sub 1 MOA groups on the range after dropping your rifle a couple of times = priceless

·
Registered
994 Posts
Keep in mind that you can find a lot of great equipment real cheap if you buy used (often it's only been shot a few times).

Second hand don't mean second place.

Scatch Maroo

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #6