Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm hoping some of you more experienced shooters on here can help me figure out how to use, or why to use certain parts of a data book.

So a few years ago when I first started shooting precision rifle, I watched alot of videos, and read alot of forums (never had any real training on precision rifle yet though...) and I feel I have a pretty "basic" understanding of PRS. Of course one of the tools suggested by many was a good data book. I did some research and ended up getting an Impact book. It's one of their basic books with room to grow. I filled it with a calculator, pens, pencils, sharpies, even a MILDot Master.

I studied and used as many pages as I could, and found it very useful. Some of my favorite, and I feel very useful pages, are the WEAPON INFO pages, the COME UP SHEETS, the BALLISTIC CHARTS, RANGE ESTIMATION pages, BASIC SIZES sheets, CONVERSIONS, FORMULAS, WIND OBSERVATIONS, and of course the ROUND COUNT pages. All of them are easy to use, and very helpful even for a noob like me.

Then there are the target pages.
These were fun! I started using their basic target shapes like the squares, circles and torsos that came with the book, then I realized It'd be cool if I could use some of my own personal targets that I shoot a lot like dot drills, and other target shapes. I have a CNC plasma cutting table, and I use a program called Corel Draw to draw up the cutpaths, but that program would be super easy to create my own pages with my own targets on them, using card stock, so that's what I did. (BTW, these targets don't necessarily correspond to those pages, I just grabbed some pages and some old targets for this picture. I keep every target I shoot)