Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to the long range shooting art. I have no forms of formal training other than the standard US Army 11B/C training I got back in 1980. I have a few AR's and a bunch of other types to firearms.
I would like to learn to shoot long ranges (out to 600-700yrds) and do it well. My weapon has a few things I need to take care of (mounts and rings) that are being taken care of now.
But where do you start? How do you start? I have not run into anyone in the Nashville area or any ranges that go over 200yrds. My back yard can go to 300yrds but its boring shooting by myself and I have no idea if I'm doing something wrong. Thanks for any advice.

P.s. Sorry to bother you with dumb ?'s
If anyone emails me please dont take offence to my email addy. I got the sniper nickname because of my fishing abiltiy at night, I pulled bass out of bad spots at night when no one else could. Hense the nickname sniper for my casting/fishing abiltiy. I DO NOT profess to be a trained sniper in any way. Thanks

·
Registered
994 Posts
I don't know where your email is listed, so I don't think anyone can take offense. ;)

Good to have you on the boards. The information you're looking for can be found already in a lot of these threads. If you want to shoot long distances, especially unmeasured distances, you'll need a scope (or rangefinder) that is capable of it. Scopes have measuring reticles. There is a sticky in the Optics section on said reticles and how to use them properly.

You know you're doing something right when you are capable of measuring the distance to a target, making the necessary adjustments, and hitting it. :)

Take a look at the mil-dot thread and then see if you have more specific questions (I doubt I can answer them, but someone smart will!).

Scatch Maroo

·
Registered
4,795 Posts