Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Little background - Basically I want to start getting into distance target shooting. As of right now I only want to spend $400ish on the rifle alone (yea i'm a poor college student). Looking to hit the 1000 yd mark.

Now I've read that a remington 700 is a good start, but I don't have the money for something like the 700P. Will I notice a considerable difference in accuracy between the cheaper rem 700 and the more expensive ones? What caliber would be the best, I was thinking .300 win mag - but do they make them in .338 mag? Also if I got a rem 700 I plan on buying the AICS down the road (sorry im a sucker for the look) so if you guys know of any particular specifics on what rem 700s will/will not fit or if they all do please let me know.

I also saw at walmart this or something very similar as it had the same style stock in .243 wssm. Now the only thing that caught my eye with that was that it came with a scope and the price was only $379. I wasn't exactly sure on the WSSM and how that performs so maybe you guys can help with that.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Hello "YEP" and welcome to the Sniper Central forums!

To be blunt and honest... if you want to shoot out to 1,000 yards you not only are going to need a minimum of $2,000 on the rifle and scope... but ALOT of practice. My style in rifles is kinda expensive... so i dont know much about the cheaper options out there. There are many other people on this forum however... wich is a good thing. And im sure there are many other people who know more about the cheaper in price rifles out there. Somthing i know for a fact you will need for long range shooting is good optics... wich if you want to shoot out to 1,000 yards or further optics will run you a minimum of around $750 and up... talk to Mel about optics and rifle pricing... he sells many things.