Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey yall, I'm pretty new to long range. i am seeking the knowledge of what i need for hitting something out to my current goal (1000 yards). I have an R700 SPS Tactical AAC. (.308) with a Trijicon 5-20x50 Accupoint optic. EGW 20 moa Rail, and some Weaver rings for starters. and shooting Federal Premium Gold Medal175gr SMK BTHP, Being that i am new and know nothing on reloading, and i am also in the process of saving up for a house...So far im hitting 1MOA (1 inch) Groups at 100 yards. in a week i'm moving out to my buddies farm down in Clay City IN, and he said i can shoot out to as far as i want on his land, so i'm taking the advantage of this offer by setting up my own little range to eventually hit out to 1000 yards, and if i ever can become successful with it i plan on trying to push further...i am on the waiting list for a mcmillan A5 Stock so in January ill be installing that. I am looking to try to do this with the least amount of techology, so i can learn with and without so if it came to a **** Hit The Fan shituation i'll be good to go, If anyone can help me along this journey, it would be a HUGE HELP! thanks!!!
- MIKE

· Registered
6,258 Posts
so if it came to a **** Hit The Fan shituation i'll be good to go
Don't.

... and I mean it. Just don't.

Regarding your long range goal... what would you consider the goal achievement? If you launch 10rnds and hit a full size IPSC target once at 1000yds, would that do it? Launch 10 and hit 5? Launch 1 and hit 1? If you're 1moa at 100yds, thats 1moa at 1000yds which is basically 10.5 inches. So you could certainly keep it on a 18" wide by 30" tall target if all things are equal. Though in the field, rarely are all things equal. Yet if you launch enough bullets, you'd easily get a hit.