Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone.

I'm a complete noob to reloading but have been researching it for a while. I am looking to start reloading for my sps tac .308. Some people have recomended I get a porgressive press. In particular, the Dillon 550B. However, I have always heard one should have a single stage press for "precision" ammo. If this is the case, I was going to go with the RCBS Rockchucher kit from Cabelas.

What would you recomend? Progressive or Single Stage??

·
Registered
247 Posts
Get a single stage. There is just too much going on at once with a progressive for someone starting out. Don't worry about making precision loads at first, concentrate on making loads that are safe and basic.

Don't blow your hands off, and don't rush into reloading. That leads to mistakes. Costly mistakes.

Erik

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was also recomended a turret press which I was told would speed things up a bit while still maintaining a good degree of precision. Definatley lots of choices to make.

·
Registered
18 Posts