Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody, newbie here :wink:

I'm looking to get a rifle for long-range paper target shooting and possibly the occasional hunting trip. I've been researching on here and some other places (this is easily the best source of info I found, BTW) and I've got it narrowed down to either the LTR or the PSS with the 5R barrel. The 5R version is only about $30 more and I prefer the stainless action/barrel, but I'm a bit wary because of some of the stuff I found on here. Specifically, I'm concerned about the comments about the barrels being "rejects" from the M24 line. Then I found some comments questioning the validity of those statements (thinking that the profile is different). So what's the latest word on this?

I think if this is still an unknown, I'll probably go with the LTR for the greater confidence in it's accuracy over the stainless/more expensive rifle.

Thanks everybody!

·
Registered
2,549 Posts
The most definate answer I have on the subject would be from mel. He mentioned them not being quite to spec for the M24. But, take into acount that is not comparing it to a PSS, just to the M24. They are great rifles and you can't go wrong w/ one.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Exactly how long range are you wanting to shoot? If i wanted a rifle to shoot 600m id go with the LTR. If you want to shoot 1000m then id definanly go with the 5R just for the added muzzle velocity.
Just something to think about.
Chris

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
The 5R barrels are M24 barrels that did not meet specifications (as was mentioned) they are then turned down to a varmint contour and put on a varmint rifle. I would not think of them totally as "rejects" they just did not meet the specfications as required.