Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hallo guys,

I'm a newbie here and I would like to ask you a question as you may have experience with this.
I have a new Remington 700 Police and yesterday I put a scope on it. I used a Leupold Dual Dovetail bases and 30 mm rings. Riflescope is Nikko Stirling Diamond 6-24x42mm Saddle Focus model - it is an Australian brand, I am not sure is you know it. Well, before mounting it on the rifle I set the perfect zero on it - by turning the scope in a V-shaped prism I found the center position very accuratelly - the crosshair didn't move more than 1/4 of inch while turning the scope around. I did it twice and the difference was no more than 1 click.

I put it onto the rifle then. Mounts fitted perfectly, riflescope too, no misalignment at all... But, when I pointed the rifle on a far away object (an insulator on power lines - cca 300 yards) I found the barrel was pointing 4 mildots lower than the scope! 4 mildots are 13,75 MOA and this is simply too much - it makes the rifle good for shooting to only some 300 - 400 yards since there is a lack of elevation remaining!

Had anyone of you faced such a problem? It looks it could be a problem of barrel/receiver misalignment. How to fix it? Is it reason enough for complaint/rejection? Or are there any taper washers under the bases available? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Yes this is a common problem with todays mass producted factory rifles. Quality is second to quantity. Any qualified gunsmith will be able to redrill hole that are perfectly centered with the bore. I would suggest though possibly waiting till you rebarrel, unless you see otherwise. That way when you rebarrel you can have all the action work done and then have the mounting holes squared to your new barrel.