Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just curious. What do you get from the long distance shooting courses that you don’t get from the (cheaper) training videos and spending the time and money just training yourself? I have year around access to my in-law’s ranch where I have plenty of wide open spaces out to a 1,000 yards. I have my groups at a 100 yards down to what you see below (5 shot group with my Remington 700 LTR .308 - normal hunting ammo). I have a ballistics app on my phone. I also have a 12 inch shooting gong. Please understand, I’m not against official training, I just want to make sure I get the best use out of my $1,200 and I would almost prefer to spend all that money practicing. Just curious. I would prefer to hear from those who have actually taken the classes. If you haven't taken the classes, that's fine, just say so.

Number Symbol Circle

· Registered
7 Posts
I'm just getting started in shooting rifles after being. pistol shooter for a while. I have a .270, a .556 AR and getting a Savage 6.5 creedmor. I hope you get some responses about training cuz I'm interested in long range shooting (1000+ yards) more so at targets versus hunting (not that I'm against hunting, just don't have any hunting experience).

Thanks

Greg

· Registered
252 Posts
It depends on what you want out of the sport. If you're happy to punch paper at 100 yards and/or bang large pieces of steel at further distances then perhaps you can "teach" yourself. To be competent at long range shooting you've got to invest time, money and work, instruction is an integral part of that.

There are many useful training aids out there, over at Snipers Hide they've got a Online training academy with many videos. If you want to really learn to shoot well you've got to get some professional instruction.

· Registered
5,231 Posts