Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok ok i know sniping is primarly done with bold actions. But me being an officer i tend to think of worst case stituations. such as multiple suspects and you wont have time to work the bolt. so i was wondering what everyones first choice would be for a semi-auto snipers rifle.

thanks all hope to get some feed back from you all.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Semi Auto's come in handy

I think the M25, SR-25, PSG1 all make great sniper rifles, but when it come to true accuracy bolt actions are just a bit more reliable.

I feel there are better suited for spotters in case the situation call for it, but when centimeters make the difference I'll stick to my remington.

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
A lot of the semi's are starting to get pretty accurate, but you are limited in options. The PSG-1 is great, but heavy and expensive (tune of $10,000). The SR-25 breed of rifles and the M1A's are about all thats left if you are thinking .308 and readily available. The M1A's are more money, and pretty good, offering better reliability then the SR25's, AR-10s, but these AR15 based rifles are sure getting more accurate as more and more people are supporting them. I would give accuracy to the AR breeds and reliability to the M1A family.

Overall, bolt guns get my vote. Repeatable accuracy, exceptional reliability, easy to operate, AND better for not leaving target identifiers (brass, etc). With training and a smooth bolt, follow-up shots happen in about 3-5 seconds.

MEL

·
Registered
571 Posts
The multiple suspect angle raises another concern with me.
If you need a semi-automatic for very rapid follow-up shots, you will most likely not have the time to place every shot as carefully as you wish. And with 7.62x51, that can lead to nasty overpenetration. In that case, going down to 5.56(maybe even an powered-down variant) could be an alternative.