Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This may seem like a "rookie" question but I'm still learning here, what classifies a rifle as "sporter"??

-Brian Shields

·
Registered
53 Posts
Iam learning with ya buddy! :)

I think a sporter rifle is a rifle just meant for hunting, and doesnt really have all that great of accuracy (2 MOA or so), sometimes light (?). These rifles are there for the hunter who only shoots a few boxes of ammo through their rifle a year, unlike the people who shoot competetions and use hundreds of rounds a year! They are also normally cheaper.

Correct me anyone, if iam wrong on something because iam not 100% sure on all of this!

StealTh

·
Premium Member
9,894 Posts
Sporter meaning a sportsman rifle. Someone who uses it mainly for hunting.

There is no hard set of rules that make something a sporter or tactical or varmint rifle. But things you will "normally" find on a sporter rifle are lighter & thinner "sporter" weight barrels. Stocks that are slender and light in design, typically external sights, but that is becomming less and less common. Barrels generally do not exceed 24" also, but that too is not always the case any longer.

MEL

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
Mel beat me to it, but just to add, sporter does not exclude sub MOA. The main thought behind a sporter rifle, is one that can be carried easily, while still allowing for reasonably powerful cartridges to be fired without being to brutal on the shooter. Most Sporters have a MonteCarlo style stock, slender light barrels, and very very nice finish.