Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
New guy here with a question. I've been shooting for about 7 years (with firearms, about 20 years with air rifles) and in that time I've been using the same guns - a Sako .22" Finfire Varmint (the heavy barrel one) and a Marlin .44" underlever (with hand-loads). I've recently bought a Steyr-Mannlicher Pro-Hunter in .308 with synthetic stock and as it's my first new rifle in about 5 years, it's made me realise something which is where my question comes from.

I know that in good shooting practice, there should be a gentle, progressive squeeze of the trigger and the shot, when it comes, should be a surprise. This is fine with my new rifle (I've only shot about 40 rounds with it so far and all at a 100yd target range), but because I've been shooting so much with the same rifles before, the shot is not a surprise - I know exactly where the breaking point is on the Sake and Marlin. I know the pull pressure needed, so even though I know the guns well, I find myself starting to anticipate the shots. This isn't such a problem on the .22 as recoil is less than some break-barrel air rifles, but with some of the heavy .44 loads on as light a gun as the Marlin (I'm using open iron sights), I'm finding that anticipation off-putting. It's fine on the Steyr as the trigger is still pretty new to me (I've not adjusted it in any way).

Any advice on anticipating shots on rifles you know very well? Do you just try and forget that you know it's going to break when it does?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for all the suggestions. I can have a go at all those ideas. There's a gun shop only about 10 miles from me that sells those snap caps so that's worth a try.