Sniper & Sharpshooter Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, newbie from NW Indiana. I'm new to the one shoot thing so this will be interesting. I'm currently practicing with a Howa 223 heavy barrel I just got from Santa. I'm preparing for a 300/500/600 in about 6 weeks in my first target event. Any helpful advice send it my way.

·
Premium Member
4,710 Posts
Hey guys, newbie from NW Indiana. I'm new to the one shoot thing so this will be interesting. I'm currently practicing with a Howa 223 heavy barrel I just got from Santa. I'm preparing for a 300/500/600 in about 6 weeks in my first target event. Any helpful advice send it my way.
Learning to hand load along with lots and lots of practice is the best advice I can give.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks NorCal- I'm trying. I got my scope zeroed on an oddly warm day a few weeks ago. I have found a range about 2 hours away that shoots out to 1000 yds and I believe I will join just to get on the longer targets. It's hard shooting at 20 degrees and they have a shoot house that is heated. So it's my hope to get a lot more rounds on this before the event.

As far as reloading I have been reading a ton on it. My concern is I will push the loads to much just to see how far I can push it. Not good I know but I also know myself. But I love the idea of fine tuning the loads.

·
Registered
1,497 Posts
5.56 will not cost much per load.
My 52 HPBT Loads are about the same cost per shot as high end imported 22LR ammo.
68 and 69 HPBT are not much more.
With my 1/9 barrel the heaviest I can go is the Hornady 75 HPBT.
Until you are shooting past 300 yards you can stick with the lighter cheaper bullets.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm now working on what grain I can use. I have heard nothing more that 62 grain and I've heard up to 77 grain. Mine is also 1/9 so it give the 75s a shot.

·
Premium Member
5,234 Posts